VOLUNTEERS OF THE YEAR

The Land Trust is so very fortunate to have such a wonderful group of dedicated volunteers! Last year these folks donated more than 5,337 hours to the Land Trust—out at our Preserves, in the office or helping with events! We are honored by their commitment and passion for our organization. We also wanted to recognize two volunteers for their outstanding contributions.

Joan Amero began volunteering for the Land Trust in 2016. Recently retired from Portland General Electric, Joan decided to get to know Central Oregon by devoting countless hours to giving back. Towards that end, Joan joined the Weed Warriors to battle invasive weeds and volunteered for Land Trust events, but it was volunteering to take photos that truly grabbed her interest and took hold! With camera in hand, Joan has attended dozens of Land Trust hikes and events taking photos of people and place. Joan also visits Land Trust protected lands on her own to document the changing of the season, wildlife, and the simple splendors of

nature. In all, Joan volunteered nearly 200 hours last year—a truly astounding number—and one reason why she is one of our Volunteers of the Year. Thanks Joan for capturing the wonders of our protected lands!

Carol Moorehead has been a Land Trust member since 2000 and a volunteer since 2012. A retired Dean of Continuing Education at COCC, Carol has a passion for the natural world that led her to become a Land Trust Walk + Hike leader. A botanist at heart. Carol leads wildflower walks, and also enjoys longer hikes that explore the far reaches of Land Trust protected lands. Regardless of the topic, her hikes consistently delight and inform participants!

Carol has also dedicated her time to help with Land Trust events, work parties and creating baseline plant inventories! It is for these reasons—and so many more the Land Trust has chosen Carol as one of our Volunteers of the Year. Thanks Carol for helping share the stories of our protected lands with the community!











Special thanks to the following individuals who have volunteered for 10 years!

Gayle Baker Lloyd Corliss Jim Hammond Barbara MacMillan Paul MacMillan Jay Mather

Jerry Norquist Barb Rumer Rick Thomas Carol Wall Larry Weinberg M.A. Willson

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

At the end of 2016, we reluctantly bid adieu to Board member Bob Groves. Bob joined the Board in March of 2010. An avid fisherman and naturalist, Bob brought a great deal of natural resource knowledge and innumerable relationships to the Land Trust. His passion for salmon and steelhead helped catalyze our initial acquisition of Whychus Canyon Preserve and the current stream restoration project. Central Oregon has truly benefitted from his passion and advocacy and we wish Bob all the best with his next adventure.

Thanks to our 2016-2017 volunteers for donating 5,337 hours to the Land Trust last year!

Cat Addison, Lucas Alberg, Cal Allen, Joan Amero, Sue Anderson, Gayle Baker, Bank of the Cascades Employees, Jennifer Barcus, John Barr, Suzanne Barr, Marilyn Bertran, Mary Beyer, Roy Beyer, Ron Beyerinck, Linda Bilyeu, Barbara Bjerke, Mike Bogar, Rod Bonacker, Bruce Bowen, Jay Bowerman, Bob Bradley, Sherry Brainerd, Eileen Braiverman, Rebecca Brown-Thompson, John Brune, Lynn Brune, Robert Brunoe, Michael Butler, Mary Campbell, Felipe Carranza, Mikolle Carroll, Charlie Chaffee, Nancy Chaffee, Lori Chapin, Katie Christoferson, Ed Clark, Marcia Cogswell, Kristan Collins, Scott Collins, Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs, Lloyd Corliss, Debbie Coss, Joe Coss, Tim Cotter, Mary Ellen Coulter, Marty Cranswick, Mary Crow, Allyson Crowe, Mike Cutting, Tom Davis, Stella Dean, Ron Deems, Kelli Delperdang, Clyde Dildine, Georgi Douglas, Byron Dudley, Eva Eagle, Eli Egertson, Lucy Egertson, Jamie Eichman, Ginny Elliott, Cynthia Feliss, Win Francis, Peggy Frede, Dwain Fullerton, Missy Geary, Ted Gladu, Andrew Goldstein, Victoria Gordon, Michael Graham, Dave Green, Patricia Green, Mike Groza, Gus Gustafson, Anna Haar, Jim Hammond, Bob Harrison, Patrick Hartman, Mike Hashem, Stephen Henrikson, Jan Hodgers, Mike Hollern, Sarah Holroyd, Nathan Hovekamp, Larry Hudspeth, Hydro Flask Employees, Kara Jakse, J. Thomas Jeffrey, Betsy Johnson, Claudia Johnson, Kathy Johnson, Paula Johnson, Ted Johnson, Todd Johnson, Brett Judish, Douglas Judish, Kris Judish, Reece Judish, David Judkins, Keith Kaneko, Pat Kearney, Erin Kerr, Kolby Kirk, Jim Knapp, Anne Knight, Marlin Kontje, Kris Kristovich, Susan Krouscup, Spencer Krueger, Leslie Lawrence, Mary Lefevre, Terry Leggert, Joan Levine, Susie Linford, Bruce Livingston, Derek Loeb, Jane Loeb, Danielle Lordi, Kate Loughney, Martha Lussenhop, John Mackay, Barbara MacMillan, Paul MacMillan, Kelly Madden, Betsy Magdall, Dick Malone, Kathy Malone, John Manning, David Margiott, Jay Mather, Joanne Mathews, Kim McCarrel, Daniele McKay, Michele McKay, Jane Meissner, Gary Meyer, David Miller, Gary Miller, Bill Mitchell, Linda Mohrmann, Paula Monaghan, Kathy Montgomery, Carol Moorehead, Rod Moorehead, Dori Mortensen, Will Mowry, Zoe Mowry, Jennifer Mucha, Jim Nicol, Lisa Nicol, Jason Nunez-Mooney, Lisa Nye, Olive Nye, Tom O'Moore, Gillian Ockner, Leslie Olson, Lydia Ortman, Michelle Ortman, Maret Pajutee, George Papanic, Kim Pearcy, Steven Pedersen, Tom Penpraze, Jessica Perkins, Steve Ponder, Portland General Electric Employees, Kent Pressman, Susan Primak, Erica Prouly, Ryder Redfield, Scott Reich, Kathy Reynolds, Ann Richardson, Jan Rising, Bruce Rognlien, Ron Ross, Rory Rowan, Barb Rumer, Sally Russell, Isabelle Russenberger, Mary Ryan, Deborah Sather, Jake Schas, John Schubert, Dave Scott, Georgie Scott, Richard Seiple, Mike Shadrach, Linda Shaw, John Shelk, Kevin Smith, Sherry Smith, Virginia Sponsler, Debbie Spresser, Al St. John, William Stabe, Jan Stalker, Connie Stoaks, Steven Strong, Mathew Sturtevant, Suterra Employees, Bob Thomas, Leslie Thomas, Ron Thorkildson, Jim Tice, Randolph Tomer, Todd Uhrich, Randy Wald, Carol Wall, Larry Weinberg, Westside Swine Club, Kelly Wetherbee, Robin Wetherbee, Brian White, Glenn Willard, Dougal Williams, John Williams, Kate Williams, Stephen Williams, Fran Willis, M.A. Willson, Joel Wilson, Bob Woodward, Mary Yanalcanlin, and Margaret Zimet.